Steven Winteregg’s Three Moods is dedicated to Dr. Richard Chenoweth.  The work consists of three movements whose titles serve as both a tempo marking and a descriptor of the music.  The first movement, Dramatic, begins with two piano chords and is eerie, intense, and of course, dramatic.  This movement contains a section that is to be played freely; otherwise the meter alternates between 4/4, 3/4, 2/4, and 5/4.  It also calls for stopped horn, half-stopping, and flutter tongue.  The second movement also contains shifting meters (4/4, 3/4, 2/4, 5/4) and a section marked freely; however, as its title suggests, it is lyrical in nature.  The third movement, Playful, gets its character from alternating meters (2/8, 3/8, 4/8, 5/8, 6/8, 2/4, 4/4) and a light style.  It is loosely structured in ternary form, with a slower, more lyrical B section.


Composer Winteregg, Steven
Dates (b. 1952)
Duration 8:00
Horn Range C2 to B5 
Level Medium/Difficult
Clef Treble Clef 
Techniques Flutter tongue, stopped horn 
Era/Style 20th Century
Country/Region United States
Accompaniment Available Piano
Accompaniment Difficuly Easy/Moderate


Movements Duration Level Range
I. Allegro moderato 3:39 Medium/Difficult C2 to B5
II. Lyrical  2:10 Medium/Difficult B3 to G5
III. Playful 2:19 Medium/Difficult A3 to G5