This concerto by Franz Danzi is in the classical style.  It consists of three movements; the first comprising the majority of the work.  The first movement, written in sonata form, is quite challenging in terms of range, endurance, and style.  The second movement is lyrical and the final movement is a lively rondo.  This piece, while frequently overlooked, is an admirable alternative to both the Mozart concerti and the Beethoven sonata.  In terms of technique and musicality, this piece requires strength, flexibility, and elegance for proper execution.


Composer Danzi, Franz
Dates (1763-1826)
Duration 16:00
Horn Range F4 to C6
Level Intermediate-Advanced
Clef Treble Clef
Techniques Lip Trill
Era/Style Classical
Country/Region Germany
Accompaniment Available Orchestra, Piano
Accompaniment Difficulty Easy


Movements Duration Level Range
I. Allegro 8:23 Intermediate-Advanced F4 to C6
II. Romance 4:10 Intermediate-Advanced F4 to G5
III. Rondo 3:31 Intermediate-Advanced F4 to Bb5