The Concerto in C Minor, Op. 8, is comprised of three movements performed without pause; however, the second movement can stand alone.  The outer movements contain the work’s lip trills and the fast technical sections with rapid sixteenth-note passages.  These two movements also have lyrical, melodic lines.  The slow second movement has a relaxed tempo and feel.  It is in 9/8 meter, has a quasi-cadenza, and allows the performer to demonstrate his/her sensitivity of musical phrasing and dynamic range.  This standard work, especially the second movement, is approachable by a younger player; however, it does require superb technique to perform the first and third movements.


Composer Strauss, Franz
Dates (1822-1905)
Duration 13:00
Horn Range A3 to Bb5
Level Medium
Clef Treble Clef
Techniques Lip Trill
Era/Style Romantic
Country/Region Germany
Accompaniment Available Orchestra, Piano, Wind Ensamble
Accompaniment Difficulty Easy


Movements Duration Level Range
I. Allegro moderato 5:32 Medium A3 to Bb5
II. Andante 3:17 Medium A3 to F#5
III. Allegro moderato 4:24 Medium B3 to Bb5