Concerto No. 3 in E-flat Major, K. 447, was originally written for natural horn and the performer Joseph Leutgeb (1732-1811).  Unlike the other two Mozart concerti, Concerto No. 3 does not contain any runs or arpeggios to a high Bb, thus making it more accessible to a younger player.  While it is a standard work in the horn repertoire, it is not commonly asked on orchestral auditions or competitions.  The difficulty in this piece lies in the nuance of performing in the classical style.  Additional technical difficulties include lip trills and some fast sixteenth-note runs..


Composer Mozart, W.A. (Franz Süssmayr)
Dates (1756-1791)
Duration 13:00
Horn Range F3 to Bb5
Level Easy/Medium
Clef Treble Clef
Techniques Lip Trill
Era/Style Classical
Country/Region Germany
Accompaniment Available Orchestra, Piano
Accompaniment Difficulty Easy


Movements Duration Level Range
I. Allegro 7:00 Medium F3 to G5
II. Romance 4:12 Easy Bb3 to F5
III.  Allegro 3:46 Medium F3 to G5