Four Improvisations (from Traveling Impressions) is a collection of four unaccompanied works written by Vitaly Buyanovsky.  This collection contains impressions of Scandinavia, Italy, Spain, and Japan.  The composer uses traditional horn techniques such as lip trills and stopped horn to bring conjure imagery of each country.  In the Scandinavian improvisation there are alphorn calls and a peasant country dance.  To represent Italy, there is a solemn chorale in the style of Palestrina and a tarantella.  Clanging church bells, flamenco rhythms, and an air of flamboyance illustrate Spain.  Finally, the imagery of Japan is roused by the use of modal harmony and a subtly that suggests a delicate sound, like that of a Japanese folk instrument.1  These pieces are most often performed as separate entities, not as an entire collection.  This edition contains helpful performance suggestions from Frøydis Ree Wekre.  


Composer Buyanovsky, Vitaly
Dates (1928-1993)
Duration 21:00
Horn Range E2 to A5
Level Medium/Difficult
Clef Treble and “Old-Notation” Bass Clef
Techniques Glissando, Lip Trill, Stopped Horn
Era/Style 20th Century
Country/Region Russia
Accompaniment Available None
Accompaniment Difficulty N/A


Movements Duration Level Range
Scandinavia 4:23 Medium C4 to G5
Italy 7:16 Difficult F2 to A5
España 4:27 Difficult E2 to B5
Japan 5:46 Medium C4 to F#5