The Concerto in B-flat Major, Op. 91, by Reinhold Gliere is a standard professional work that is often used in competitions.  Three movements comprise this large, romantic piece that was written for Valery Polekh.  The work has some technical considerations including stopped horn, rapid articulation, a wide range (A2-Bb5), and a lengthy cadenza.  The first movement begins in old-notation bass clef on an A (A2), navigates numerous wide leaps, has a fast, technical section in B major, and contains the concerto’s cadenza which is of considerable length.  The beautiful second movement features a thick, dense texture and lush harmonies, as well as the passage for stopped horn.  This element arrives at the very end as the last portion of an ascending line up to a high Bb (Bb5).  Players often find intonation of this passage to be difficult.  The third movement has a dance-like feel and has some rapid articulation that often proves to be difficult.  The most challenging element of this work is neither technical nor lyrical; it is the element of endurance. At approximately twenty-six minutes long, the length of the piece tests the endurance of even the most seasoned performer.

The International Music Company edition of this work is edited by Valery Polekh and comes with his cadenza.  The Hans Pizka edition includes both the Polekh and Baumann cadenzas.


Composer Gliere, Reinhold
Dates (1875-1956)
Duration 26:00
Horn Range A2 to Bb5
Level Medium/Difficult
Clef Treble Clef and “Old-Notation” Bass Clef
Techniques Mute, Stopped Hown
Era/Style Romantic
Country/Region Russia
Accompaniment Available Orchestra, Piano, Wind Ensemble
Accompaniment Difficulty Moderate


Movements Duration Level Range
I. Allegro 12:45 Medium/Difficult A2 to A#5
II. Andante 7:02 Medium/Difficult Bb2 to Bb5
III. Allegro vivace 6:30 Medium/Difficult F3 to Bb5