David Amram’s Concerto for Horn and Wind Symphony Orchestra is unique in several ways.  First, it consists of two movements instead of the traditional three.  Second, it begins with an andante and, third, it contains some unique jazz elements.  The first movement, the Andante, is slow and expressive while tonally foreshadowing the jazz elements that occur in the second movement.  Since the movements are performed attaca this aural element easily transfers to the second movement.  The second movement’s written-out rhythms portray the feeling and mood of the improvisatory style of the jazz idiom.  This movement also includes the use of stopped horn, multiphonics, and lip trills.  The performer must also have good flexibility and a wide range to successfully execute this piece.


Composer Amram, David
Dates (b. 1930)
Duration 13:00
Horn Range Bb2 to C6
Level Intermediate-Advanced
Clef Treble and “New-Notation” Bass Clef
Techniques Multiphonics, lip trill, stopped horn
Era/Style 20th Century
Country/Region United States
Accompaniment Available Orchestra, Piano, Wind Ensemble
Accompaniment Difficulty Easy/Hard


Movements Duration Level Range
I. Andante 3:25 Intermediate-Advanced Bb2 to G5
II. Allegro assai 9:06 Intermediate-Advanced C3 to C6