Circus Suite is a five-movement work that depicts different aspects of the circus: the march, lions and tigers, elephants, the trapeze, and clowns.  Although this piece utilizes an extended technique (stopped horn for one note), its difficulty lies in its rhythmic complexity and subtle shifts in timber and dynamics.  The most notable instance of rhythmic complexity occurs in movement V, Clowns, where the meter shifts between 2/4, 3/8, 9/8, 7/8, 8/8, and 5/8.  The horn and piano parts are often juxtaposed creating an additional layer of difficulty, thus earning this piece a rating of medium instead of easy; nevertheless, this piece is approachable for a high school student with advanced rhythmic skills.  This dramatic and descriptive piece is an audience pleaser and is easy on the chops, which makes it a good recital opener or closer.


Composer Horvit, Michael
Dates (b. 1932)
Duration 10:00
Horn Range F3 to Bb5
Level Medium
Clef Treble Clef
Techniques Stopped Horn
Era/Style 20th Century
Country/Region United States
Accompaniment Available Piano
Accompaniment Difficulty Easy


Movements Duration Level Range
I. March 1:00 Medium B3 to E5
II. Lions and Tigers 3:16 Medium Ab3 to F5
III. Elephants 2:35 Medium F3 to Ab5
IV. The Flying Trapeze 2:25 Medium Ab3 to Ab5
V. Clowms 1:47 Medium G3 to Bb5