This concerto by Joseph Haydn, composed in 1762, is a delightful work in the classical style.  Its difficulty level is derived from its high tessitura, lip trills, sixteenth-note runs, and cadenzas.  Range is a considerable factor in this work, since the majority of the piece sits in the horn’s high range; therefore, a strong high range and good endurance are necessary for this piece.  The horn part is in D, but transposed F parts are available.  Its charming melodies make the rigorous practice needed to improve one’s agility, technique, and endurance worthwhile.


Composer Haydn, Franz Joseph
Dates (1732-1809)
Duration 16:00
Horn Range A2 to B5
Level Intermediate-Advanced
Clef Treble Clef and “Old-Notation” Bass Clef
Techniques Lip Trills
Era/Style Classical
Country/Region Germany
Accompaniment Available Orchestra,Piano
Accompaniment Difficulty Easy


Movements Duration Level Range
I. Allegro moderato 5:38 Intermediate-Advanced A2 to B5 
II. Andante 7:13 Intermediate-Advanced A2 to B5 
III. Allegro moderato 3:19 Intermediate-Advanced E3 to A5