J. Michael Haydn’s Concertino for Horn and Orchestra is a charming work.  Written in the classical style, this work is light, playful, and elegant.  It is, however, full of challenges for the performer.  This piece, written for natural horn, requires excellent technique from the performer.  While most performers today will play this piece on the modern horn, it still requires clean, fast technique from the player.  The first movement is a larghetto that contains a cadenza.  There is an optional written cadenza in this edition; it includes some bass clef notation.  The second movement is a spirited allegro that demands the performer have good flexibility, as there are numerous arpeggios and leaps to navigate.  This movement also contains a cadenza, which the editors of this edition have notated.  The third movement is comprised of a minuet and trio.  The solo horn enters in the trio and for the return of the minuet.  In conclusion, this work is a nice alternative to the F.J. Haydn and W.A. Mozart concerti and it would make a nice addition to a recital program.


Composer Haydn, J. Michael
Dates (1737-1806)
Duration 15:00
Horn Range E3 to B5
Level Difficult
Clef Treble Clef
Techniques Lip Trill
Era/Style Classical
Country/Region Germany
Accompaniment Available Orchestra, Piano
Accompaniment Difficulty Easy


Movements Duration Level Range
I. Larghetto 7:48 Difficult E3 to A5
II. Allegro non troppo 4:52 Difficult E3 to A5
III. Menuet and Trio 3:28 Difficult A3 to B5