The Concerto No. 1 in D Major by Mozart has come under some scrutiny in the past three decades.  The first movement was written by Mozart and is a wonderful introduction to the classical style for a younger student.  The piece, originally written for natural horn and the performer Joseph Leutgeb (1732-1811), is in the key of D major.  This key would be irrelevant to a natural horn player; however, it might prove to be challenging for the modern horn’s younger performers.  The Rondo that is included as the second movement of this concerto was not the rondo written by Mozart.  This Rondo was penned after Mozart’s death by his student, Franz Süssmayer.  The orchestral accompaniment and the inclusion of a quotation from the Lamentationes Jermiae Prophetae are what differentiate Süssmayer’s version from the original Mozart Rondo, KV 412 (386b), also in D-major.1  Further information on this topic is available in Hans Pizka’s book, Das Horn bie Mozart. 


Composer Mozart, W.A. (Franz Süssmayr)
Dates (1756-1791)
Duration 9:00
Horn Range E4 to F#5
Level Easy/Medium
Clef Treble Clef
Techniques Lip Trill
Era/Style Classical
Country/Region Germany
Accompaniment Available Orchestra, Piano
Accompaniment Difficulty Moderate


Movements Duration Level Range
I. Allegro 4:54 Easy/Medium E4 to F#5
II. Rondo 3:42 Easy/Medium E4 to F5


1 W.A. Mozart, Concerto in D Major for Horn and Orchestra, No. 1, K. 412 + 514, Franz Giegling, ed.  (Kassel, Germany: Bärenreiter, 2005).