This work by Verne Reynolds was written for Norman Schweikert.  It is a grand and majestic work comprised of four movements that makes full use of the horn’s range and rich sound.  The first and third movements rely mostly on lyrical playing while the second and fourth movements are more technical in nature.  The piece is tonal and quite melodic but does contain wide leaps and some dissonant intervals.  This twentieth-century work is a nice addition to a recital.


Composer Reynolds, Verne 
Dates (b. 1926)
Duration 17:00
Horn Range A2 to A5
Level Difficult/Intermediate-Advanced
Clef Treble Clef and “New-Notation” Bass Clef 
Techniques Lip Trill, Stopped Horn
Era/Style 20th Century
Country/Region United States
Accompaniment Available Piano
Accompaniment Difficulty Moderate


Movements Duration Level Range
I. Maliconia 4:06 Difficult C3 to G5
II. Caccia 3:20 Intermediate-Advanced A2 to Ab5
III. Aria 6:09 Difficult Bb3 to A5
IV. Alla Marcia 3:49 Intermediate-Advanced D3 to G5