This concerto by F.A. Rosetti is a charming work in the Classical style.  It is a light and delightful work that is not overpowered by its D minor harmonies.  The work follows the formal structure of the time period.  The first movement is in sonata form, the second movement is an adagio, and the third movement is a rondo.  This last movement, however, is not your typical rondo.  First, it is not quite true to rondo form, the actual structure is ABACBA.  Rosetti uses an adagio theme for the B material and a 6/8 hunting theme in section C.  These variations from normal classical structure add to the intrigue of this minor-keyed concerto.  Like other compositions from the classical period, the difficulties in performing this concerto pertain more to style and interpretation than technique and ability; however, the flexibility to gracefully navigate large leaps and the ability to execute rapid sixteenth-note passages is a must.


Composer Rosetti, Francesco Antonio
Dates (1746-1792)
Duration 19:00
Horn Range C2 to A5
Level Difficult
Clef Treble Clef
Techniques Lip Trill
Era/Style Classical
Country/Region Germany
Accompaniment Available Orchestra, Piano
Accompaniment Difficulty Easy


Movements Duration Level Range
I. Allegro molto 9:22 Difficult C2 to A5
II. Romanze 4:38 Difficult Eb4 to Ab5
III. Rondo 5:17 Difficult G3 to A5