Rosetti’s Concerto in E-flat Major is written in the classical style, but is technically more demanding than the Mozart concerti.  The first movement is in sonata-allegro form and contains fast sixteenth-note passages, lip trills, and numerous grace notes.  It is quite long and contains a cadenza.  The second movement is a lyrical romance that also contains a cadenza.  The third movement is a traditional lively rondo.  Some performers choose to augment fermatas with a quasi-cadenza, but this is not a requirement.  This edition includes only the horn part in E flat and does not supplement music for the cadenzas.


Composer Rosetti, Francesco Antonio
Dates (1746-1792)
Duration 18:00
Horn Range F3 to Bb5
Level Intermediate-Advanced
Clef Treble Clef
Techniques Lip Trills
Era/Style Classical
Country/Region Germany
Accompaniment Available Orchestra, Piano
Accompaniment Difficulty Easy


Movements Duration Level Range
I. Allegro moderato 8:57 Intermediate-Advanced E3 to Bb5
II. Romance 4:22 Intermediate-Advanced F4 to F5
III. Allegretto non troppo 4:18 Intermediate-Advanced F3 to Bb5